Social play

... is key for successful inclusion of children with disabilities and has significant impact on their wellbeing and development. Typical traits in autism, such as impaired social and communication skills and repetitive behaviours, make social play particularly challenging for children diagnosed on the spectrum, exposing them to a wide range of mental health risks.

This project investigates how technology can help support social play activities in mixed, co-located groups of autistic and neuro-typical children, aged 6 to 8 years. We aim to develop smart play objects, which can intelligently react to social situations to scaffold interactive play experiences of autistic children and their typically developing peers. For such objects to be meaningful to different children, it is key to involve them actively in their design.

This poses three fundamental research questions:

  1. how can we design such objects in collaboration with mixed groups of children?
  2. what kinds of technology support shared play experiences and
  3. how can we evaluate what impact these objects have on social play?

In design, we build on our experiences from the OutsideTheBox - Rethinking Assistive Technologies with Children with Autism project, where we have successfully implemented different methods for engagement, for example through craft materials, storytelling, digital fabrication or theatre workshops. In OutsideTheBox we worked individually with autistic children, the challenge in this project is to design in mixed groups for social play, something that has not been done before.

To evaluate how effective the smart objects we develop are, we need to develop a framework for evaluation that considers the different ideas and meanings of social play of different children. In our evaluation studies, we will combine a variety of measurements, such as proximity and orientation of players with qualitative input from parents, teachers and importantly, the children themselves. This will provide us with a holistic and nuanced assessment of how these smart objects changed social play behaviours.

The contributions of this research are threefold: firstly, we develop methods to engage mixed groups of children in design processes. Secondly, we develop and build a range of smart objects as case studies, and thirdly, we evaluate these smart objects in a novel way. If this research is successful, we are opening the door to a new kind of technology that can contribute to creating safe, inspiring and inclusive environments for children with mixed abilities and needs.

Sozialem Spiel

...kommt eine Schlüsselrolle in der Entwicklung und der erfolgreichen Inklusion von Kindern mit Behinderung zu. Die typischen Merkmale von Autismus, wie Defizite im Sozialverhalten und in der Kommunikation sowie repetitive Verhaltensweisen, machen aber gerade das zu einer großen Herausforderung für Kinder am autistischen Spektrum.

Dieses Projekt erforscht, wie Technologie helfen kann, soziales Spiel zwischen autistischen und typisch-entwickelten Kindern im Alter von 6 bis 8 Jahren zu unterstützen. Wir entwickeln in diesem Projekt smarte Spielobjekte, die intelligent auf soziale Situationen reagieren können, um Gelegenheiten für gemeinsame Spielerfahrungen von autistischen und typisch-entwickelten Kindern möglich zu machen. Um solche Objekte zu entwickeln und sie im Spiel von Kindern zu verankern, ist es zentral, Kinder in ihr Design aktiv einzubinden.

Dies wirft drei fundamentale Forschungsfragen auf:

  1. Wie kann mit gemischten Gruppen von Kindern solche Technologie entworfen werden?
  2. Welche Technologien können solche Spielerfahrungen unterstützen? und
  3. Wie können die Auswirkungen von smarten Objekten auf das soziale Spielverhalten evaluiert werden?

In der Frage des Designs bauen wir auf unsere Erfahrungen im Projekt OutsideTheBox - Assistive Technologien neu entwickeln mit Kindern mit Autismus auf, in dem wir verschiedenste Methoden zur Einbindung von autistischen Kindern in den Gestaltungsprozess von Technologie entwickelt haben. Während wir in OutsideTheBox mit einzelnen autistischen Kindern zusammengearbeitet haben, stehen wir mit diesem Projekt vor der Herausforderung, mit gemischten Gruppen gemeinsam Technologie zu gestalten.

Um zu evaluieren, wie sich die smarten Objekte, die wir bauen, auf soziales Spiel auswirken, werden wir eine Methodik entwickeln, die die verschiedenen Bedeutungen von sozialem Spiel für verschiedene Kinder berücksichtigt. In unseren Evaluationsstudien kombinieren wir Messgrößen, wie zum Beispiel den räumlichen Abstand und die Orientierung von Spielenden, mit qualitativen Perspektiven von Eltern, Lehrern und insbesondere von den Kindern selbst. Dadurch ist eine gesamtheitliche und vielschichtige Beurteilung des Einflusses von smarten Objekten auf soziales Spiel möglich.

Die wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse dieser Arbeit ergeben sich durch die Entwicklung von partizipativen Techniken, die es gemischten Gruppen von Kindern erlaubt, an Gestaltungsprozessen teilzunehmen. Weiters entwickeln und realisieren wir eine Reihe von smarten Objekten als Fallbeispiele und evaluieren diese Objekte in einer neuartigen Art und Weise. Mit dieser Forschung eröffnen wir neue Wege zur Inklusion durch eine neue Art von Technologie, die in Spielumgebungen eingebettet ist.

Gefördert vom FWF - Der Wissenschaftsfind [P29970-N31]